The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

On purge bébé !

Synopsis

Marie Mergeay
Reading time
3 min.

An opera about unbreakable chamber pots and fragile family relationships, about straggly Scottish isles and shifty smiles, about how the greatest ambitions can end in the smallest room in the house.... Read the synopsis of On purge bébé !​​​​​​​.

Porcelain manufacturer Bastien Follavoine is busy in his office. To answer the question put to him by his seven-year-old son Toto – affectionally known as Bébé – he is scouring the dictionary to find out where the Hebrides archipelago is located. Annoyed at his failure to find the word, he calls to his wife Julie to come. She is ruffled at being put upon for this, just when she was counting on him to help her administer a laxative to Toto to alleviate his chronic constipation. Follavoine, however, has other things on his mind; he is about to receive Aristide Chouilloux, an official who can help him secure a large order for chamber pots. Indeed, Follavoine believes he has developed unbreakable pots and hopes to become the French army’s sole supplier. Julie reproaches her husband for paying more attention to Chouilloux than to his own son. During their exchange of words, she lets slip that Chouilloux’s wife is cheating on him with a certain Truchet.

Chouilloux arrives to discuss the sale of the porcelain chamber pots with Follavoine. They test the pots for their robustness but, to the bewilderment of both gentlemen, the pots shatter into a thousand pieces. When Julie returns to ask her husband once again to come and help her administer the laxative, Chouilloux shows a certain interest in the child’s complaint. He gives a blow by blow account of his own medical condition: not constipation, but the opposite: ulcerative colitis. Once again Julie urges her husband to come and help her, but Follavoine refuses, whereupon his wife leaves the room furious.

Julie returns, this time with Toto in her wake. She wants her husband to assert his authority and make the child do as he is told. Toto digs his heels in and refuses to drink the medicine, despite the encouragement of Chouilloux, the heavy-handed irritation of his father and the rewards held out to him by his mother. Julie even puts pressure on Chouilloux to set a good example by imbibing a few sips of the laxative himself. A heated row ensues between the Follavoines, during which Julie casually mentions in the presence of Chouilloux that the latter’s wife is having an affair. In his consternation, Chouilloux downs half the laxative with an immediate effect on his gut: exit Chouilloux, to the smallest room.

Now Mrs. Chouilloux arrives, accompanied by Truchet, who she introduces as her cousin. For a short while, everyone puts up a front, but when Chouilloux returns from the toilet, a furious row breaks out between the lot of them: Chouilloux accuses his wife of adultery and his friend Truchet of betrayal. Truchet thinks that Follavoine has told Chouilloux all this and slaps him across the face. In the commotion, Follavoine knocks back the rest of the medication. Exit Follavoine, to the smallest room.

When he is alone with his mother, Toto triumphantly shows her the empty glass. She is over the moon, thinking that he has finally ingested the medicine, but her husband does not share her enthusiasm. He is past caring and leaves the house angry. And Bébé? He still wants to know where that archipelago is located.

Share this page

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

On purge bébé !

Argument

Marie Mergeay
Temps de lecture
3 min.

Un opéra où il est question de pots de chambre incassables et de liens familiaux friables, des îles Hébrides et des relations hybrides, de grandes espérances qui meurent au petit coin... Lisez ici l’argument de On purge bébé !.

Bastien Follavoine, fabricant de porcelaine, s’affaire dans son cabinet de travail. Pour répondre à une question de son fils Toto – âgé de sept ans et appelé Bébé –, il tente de trouver où se situent les îles Hébrides en cherchant ce nom dans le dictionnaire à la lettre Z. Comme il ne le trouve pas, il s’énerve et appelle son épouse Julie. Cette dernière est fâchée qu’il la dérange pour ce genre de problème alors qu’elle compte sur lui pour l’aider à administrer un purgatif à Toto, qui est constipé. Mais Follavoine a d’autres préoccupations : il s’apprête à recevoir Aristide Chouilloux, un fonctionnaire qui devrait l’aider à obtenir une grosse commande de pots de chambre en porcelaine. Il prétend en effet avoir mis au point des pots de chambre incassables et espère devenir le fournisseur exclusif de l’armée française. Julie reproche à son mari de s’intéresser davantage à monsieur Chouilloux qu’à son propre fils. Au cours de la discussion, elle évoque le fait que madame Chouilloux trompe son mari avec un certain monsieur Truchet.

Arrive monsieur Chouilloux. Lorsque Follavoine veut démontrer la solidité de ses pots de chambre, ceux-ci se brisent en mille morceaux. Les deux hommes en sont déconcertés. Lorsque Julie vient à nouveau solliciter l’aide de son mari pour purger Bébé, Chouilloux semble montrer un certain intérêt pour la santé de l’enfant. Il raconte alors en détail ses propres problèmes intestinaux : il ne souffre pas de constipation, mais d’une entérite relâchée. Julie presse une nouvelle fois son mari de venir l’aider, ce qu’il refuse. Furieuse, elle quitte la pièce.

Julie revient, cette fois avec Bébé. Elle veut que son époux fasse obéir l’enfant. Celui-ci continue à refuser de boire son purgatif malgré les encouragements de Chouilloux, la colère de son père et les promesses de récompenses. Julie prie alors Chouilloux de montrer l’exemple en buvant quelques gorgées du purgatif. S’ensuit une vive querelle entre les époux lors de laquelle elle laisse échapper que Chouilloux est cocu. Complètement décontenancé, celui-ci se jette par erreur sur le purgatif dont il boit la moitié, ce qui se répercute directement sur ses intestins : il se précipite vers les toilettes.

Sur ces entrefaites arrive Madame Chouilloux en compagnie de Truchet, qu’elle présente comme son cousin. Pendant un moment, tout le monde sauve les apparences, mais lorsque Chouilloux revient des toilettes, une violente dispute éclate : Chouilloux accuse sa femme d’adultère et son ami Truchet de trahison. Celui-ci est persuadé que Follavoine a révélé la situation à Chouilloux et lui flanque une gifle. Interloqué, Follavoine boit le reste du purgatif : à son tour de se précipiter vers les toilettes.

Se retrouvant seul avec sa mère, Toto triomphant lui montre le verre vide. Elle est aux anges qu’il ait enfin bu son purgatif, mais son mari ne partage pas son enthousiasme. Il quitte la maison, furieux. Et Bébé dans tout cela ? Il veut toujours savoir où se situent les îles Hébrides.

Traduction : Brigitte Brisbois

Partagez cette page