MM Tickets will be closed from Saturday July 9 until Monday August 15. During this period, tickets and subscriptions can still be booked online via this website.

Close

The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

© Lissyelle Laricchia

Opera

Henry VIII

Camille Saint-Saëns

Presentation
Who can govern when in love?— Henry VIII (Act I)

First produced in 1883, at a time when French opera was seeking to reinvent itself, Henry VIII is a final tribute to the historical panoramas of grand opera. The work tells the story of the infamous Tudor king who, having fallen in love with Anne Boleyn, sets out to divorce Catherine of Aragon, thereby causing a rift between the Church of England and Rome.

Though overshadowed by the tremendous popularity of Samson et Dalila, Henry VIII is a carefully crafted orchestral score characterized by stark operatic contrasts: between passion and modesty, jealousy and renunciation, intimacy and solemnity. La Monnaie has entrusted this key work in Camille Saint-Saëns’ oeuvre to two ardent champions of the French repertoire: Alain Altinoglu and Olivier Py can be relied upon to do real justice to the piece.

Cast
Cast

ConductorALAIN ALTINOGLU DirectorOLIVIER PY

Set design & CostumesPIERRE-ANDRÉ WEITZ LightingBERTRAND KILLY Chorus masterSTEFANO VISCONTI

Henry VIIILIONEL LHOTE Don Gomez de FériaED LYON Le Cardinal CampeggioVINCENT LE TEXIER Le Comte de SurreyENGUERRAND DE HYS Le Duc de NorfolkWERNER VAN MECHELEN CranmerJÉRÔME VARNIER Catherine d’AragonMARIE-ADELINE HENRY Anne BoleynNORA GUBISCH Lady ClarenceLUDIVINE GOMBERT

La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra and Choir
La Monnaie Choral Academy, led by Benoît Giaux

ProductionLA MONNAIE

Dates & tickets

Dates

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

© Lissyelle Laricchia

Opéra

Henry VIII

Camille Saint-Saëns

Présentation
Qui donc commande, quand il aime ?— Henry VIII, acte I

Crée en 1883, à une période où l’opéra français cherche à se réinventer, Henry VIII est un dernier hommage au grand opéra et à ses fresques historiques caractéristiques. L’œuvre raconte le divorce d’Henry VIII et de Catherine d’Aragon, à l’origine du schisme entre l’Église d’Angleterre et Rome.

Écarté des scènes lyriques en raison de la grande popularité de Samson et Dalila, Henry VIII bénéficie pourtant d’une écriture orchestrale particulièrement soignée, soutenant des lignes lyriques fort contrastées : entre passion et pudeur, jalousie et renonciation, intimité et solennité. La Monnaie souhaite ainsi redonner toute sa place à cette partition essentielle de Camille Saint-Saëns, en la confiant à deux grands défenseurs du répertoire français : Alain Altinoglu et Olivier Py.

Dates & tickets

Dates

Distribution
Distribution

Direction musicaleALAIN ALTINOGLU Mise en scèneOLIVIER PY

Décors & costumesPIERRE-ANDRÉ WEITZ ÉclairagesBERTRAND KILLY Chef des chœursSTEFANO VISCONTI

Henry VIIILIONEL LHOTE Don Gomez de FériaED LYON Le Cardinal CampeggioVINCENT LE TEXIER Le Comte de SurreyENGUERRAND DE HYS Le Duc de NorfolkWERNER VAN MECHELEN CranmerJÉRÔME VARNIER Catherine d’AragonMARIE-ADELINE HENRY Anne BoleynNORA GUBISCH Lady ClarenceLUDIVINE GOMBERT

Orchestre symphonique et chœurs de la Monnaie
Académie des chœurs de la Monnaie s.l.d. de Benoît Giaux

ProductionLA MONNAIE