La Monnaie / De Munt LA MONNAIE / DE MUNT
© Cyril Moreau

Dance

Room with a View

Rone X (La) Horde & Le Ballet National De Marseille

Presentation
It’s a kick in the face— Laurent Garnier

In a marble quarry, machines are hard at work, cutting and polishing the rock. In this otherworldly place, behind his machines, Rone carves out vast electronic and emotional landscapes that he offers up to a group of dancers.

While sculptors might work with marble to ”free the human form trapped inside the block” (Michelangelo), the performers from the Ballet National de Marseille, on their part, dance to escape the white immobility of the stones, rise up to examine the infinitely human contours of an impending disaster and envisage the possibility of its beauty.

With Room with a View, the collective (LA)HORDE, at the head of the Ballet National de Marseille, continues to explore forms of protest and revolt through dance. This production is a blank page, a space designed like a naturalist white cube where it is possible to inscribe sounds, bodies and images to reflect on humanity’s changing place in the world.

This production is part of Troika Dance
Gallery

Gallery

Dates & tickets

Dates

Cast
Cast

Artistic conceptRONE & (LA)HORDE MusicRONE Direction and choreography(LA)HORDE - MARINE BRUTTI, JONATHAN DEBROUWER, ARTHUR HAREL

With the dancers of the Ballet national de Marseille

Room with a View is a co-production of La Monnaie/Théâtre National Wallonie Bxl/Charleroi Danse

Creation on 5 March 2020 as part of a commission from the Théâtre du Châtelet in agreement with Décibels Production and InFiné.
Coproduction: Théâtre du Châtelet, Ballet national de Marseille and Grand Théâtre de Provence.

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

© Cyril Moreau

Danse

Room with a View

Rone X (La) Horde & Le Ballet National De Marseille

Présentation
un spectacle coup de poing.— Laurent Garnier

Dans une carrière de marbre, des appareils s’affairent, débitent et polissent la roche. Dans ce lieu en dehors du monde et derrière ses machines, le DJ et producteur Rone sculpte d’amples paysages électroniques et émotionnels qu’il offre à un groupe de danseurs.

Si les sculpteurs travaillaient le marbre pour « libérer la forme humaine à l’intérieur du bloc » (Michelangelo), les interprètes du Ballet national de Marseille dansent pour se soustraire à la blanche immobilité des pierres, et se dressent pour scruter les contours infiniment humains d’un désastre annoncé tout en envisageant la possibilité même de sa beauté.

Avec Room with a View, le collectif (LA)HORDE, à la tête du Ballet national de Marseille, continue l’exploration par la danse des formes de contestation et de révolte. Cette production est une page vierge, un espace pensé comme un White Cube naturaliste dans lequel inscrire les sons, les corps et les images qui donnent à appréhender la place mouvante de l’humanité.

Cette production fait partie de Troika Dance
Galerie

Galerie

Distribution
Distribution

Concept artistiqueRONE & (LA)HORDE MusiqueRONE Mise en scène et chorégraphie(LA)HORDE - MARINE BRUTTI, JONATHAN DEBROUWER, ARTHUR HAREL

Avec les danseur.se.s du Ballet national de Marseille

Room with a View est une co-réalisation La Monnaie/Théâtre National Wallonie Bxl/Charleroi Danse

Dates & tickets

Dates