MM Tickets will be closed from 6 July until 12 August, but during this period tickets and subscriptions can still be booked online.
La Monnaie wishes you a pleasant summer! 

Close
La Monnaie / De Munt LA MONNAIE / DE MUNT
© p.stubbe/midjourney
Concert

Petite messe solennelle
Emmanuel Trenque

Presentation

“Dear God … here it is, that poor little mass. Is it really a sacred score that I’ve just written or rather a hell of a score? As you well know, I was born for opera buffa! Not much art, just a little heart and that should do it. So, praise to you, Lord, and please grant me paradise.”
Gioachino Rossini

If Bach signed his religious works with a devout and earnest ‘Soli Deo gloria’, the ever-ironic Rossini could not resist the somewhat flippant addition ‘petite’ to his last, ninety-minute missa solemnis. And yet this is one of the most ambitious works Rossini composed in the last years of his life, after he had settled back in Paris. The opera composer, who by his own admission was born for the merry buffo genre, dropped the public façade and wrote a keenly sensitive mass that steers clear of the sentimentality and lavishness of many liturgical works of the time. Characterized by harmonic boldness, an elegant style and an inventive use of the voice, the score features melodies that are as beautiful as ever.   

Rossini would later orchestrate the work, but the intensity of this Petite messe solennelle comes out most brightly in the version with piano and harmonium accompaniment, which the La Monnaie Chorus and its artistic director Emmanuel Trenque will perform in the apt setting of La Monnaie’s Main Hall. 

Create your own flexible concert subscription with your four favourite symphonic productions (or more) and you enjoy a 25% discount as well as a wide range of benefits. 

Dates & tickets

12.10.2024 — 11:00

Location

La Monnaie

Prices

€ 30

GIOACHINO ROSSINI
Petite messe solennelle (1863)

Dates & tickets

Dates & Tickets

Cast
Cast

ConductorEMMANUEL TRENQUE

SopranoFLAVIA STRICKER AltoLILLY JØRSTAD TenoreLORENZO MARTELLI BassoBRENT MICHAEL SMITH PianoALBERTO MORO HarmoniumBART RODYNS

La Monnaie Chorus
La Monnaie Choral Academy
Concert with finalists of the Concorso Lirico Internazionale Portofino (10th Anniversary)

ProductionDE MUNT/LA MONNAIE

In co-production with Shelter Prod and Prospero MM Productions, with the support of Taxshelter.be and ING
With the support of the Belgian Federal Government's Tax Shelter

La Monnaie / De Munt LA MONNAIE / DE MUNT
© p.stubbe/midjourney
Concert

Petite messe solennelle
Emmanuel Trenque

Présentation

« Bon Dieu… la voilà terminée cette pauvre petite messe. Est-ce bien de la musique sacrée que je viens de faire ou de la sacrée musique ? J’étais né pour l’opera buffa, tu le sais bien ! Peu de science, un peu de cœur, tout est là. Sois donc béni et accorde-moi le Paradis. »
—  Gioachino Rossini

Bach signait ses œuvres religieuses d’un « Soli Deo Gloria » aussi pieux que solennel. Rossini, jamais à court d’ironie, n’a pu s’empêcher d’ajouter la mention « petite » à son dernier opus majeur. Pourtant, cette missa solemnis est l’une des meilleures œuvres composées par Rossini au soir de sa vie, après son installation définitive à Paris. Le compositeur, qui se disait né pour l’opéra bouffe, se défait de sa carapace et compose ici une messe pleine de sincérité, loin de l’opulence sentimentale et grandiloquente de bien des œuvres liturgiques de l’époque. Caractérisée par son audace harmonique, son style élégant et son utilisation inventive de la voix, la partition fait aussi la part belle aux mélodies enchanteresses.

Rossini réalise par la suite une version orchestrale de cette Petite messe solennelle, mais elle ne saurait égaler l’intensité de l’œuvre initiale, avec accompagnement piano et harmonium, version que les Chœurs de la Monnaie et leur directeur artistique Emmanuel Trenque interpréteront dans le cadre on ne peut plus approprié de l’église des Dominicains. 

Créez votre propre abonnement concert flexible en sélectionnant vos quatre productions symphoniques préférées (ou plus) et bénéficiez d’une réduction de 25 % ainsi que de nombreux autres avantages. 

Dates & tickets

12.10.2024 — 16:00

Lieu

Église des Dominicains

Tarifs

Tickets en vente dès le 26.6.2024

30 €

GIOACHINO ROSSINI
Petite messe solennelle (1863)

Galerie

Galerie

Dates & tickets

Dates

Distribution
Distribution

Direction musicaleEMMANUEL TRENQUE

SopranoFLAVIA STRICKER AltoLILLY JØRSTAD TenoreLORENZO MARTELLI BassoBRENT MICHAEL SMITH PianoALBERTO MORO HarmoniumBART RODYNS

Chœurs de la Monnaie
Académie des chœurs de la Monnaie
Concert avec plusieurs finalistes du Concorso Lirico Internazionale Portofino (10ème anniversaire)

ProductionLA MONNAIE

En coproduction avec Shelter Prod et Prospero MM Productions, avec le soutien de Taxshelter.be et ING
Avec le soutien du Tax Shelter du Gouvernement fédéral belge