The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

Der Rosenkavalier

Synopsis

Elisa Zaninotto
Reading time
4 min.

A comedy, certainly, but also the moving portrait of a farewell, a nostalgic look back at time past, faded beauty, lost loves. Read the synopsis of Der Rosenkavalier here, and listen to some musical highlights in advance.

ACT I

In the Marschallin’s bedroom, she and her young Lover, Octavian, are awakening from a rapturous night.

Octavian hides quickly as a servant comes in with breakfast. Soon after he returns to bed, there is a clamour in the outer room. The Marschallin recognises the voice as that of her overbearing and crude cousin, Baron Ochs. She tells Octavian to hide behind the screen and find some clothes. Ochs storms in, demanding his cousin’s attention. Although he is a nobleman, he has little money, so he intends to marry the young rich bourgeois Sophie. According to tradition, he must find a well-born messenger to present a perfumed silver rose to the woman as a marriage proposal.

The Marschallin mischievously recommends Count Rofrano (Octavian) for the job, and Ochs agrees. Octavian has reappeared, dressed in women’s clothes as the housemaid “Mariandel”. Ochs flirts with her. Meanwhile, a number of visitors arrive in succession, demanding the Marschallin’s attention. As an Italian tenor sings an aria, Ochs attempts to bully a notary into writing out a marriage contract that will favour him greatly. “Mariandel” slips away.

After everyone has Left, the Marschallin reflects on her lost youth. Octavian returns, in his own clothing, and the Marschallin tells him that sometimes she gets up in the night and stops all the clocks so as to hold time in its place. She declares that he will one day leave her for a younger woman, and he leaves in great distress. When she realises that she has neglected to kiss him goodbye, she tries unsuccessfully to have him returned to her house.

ACT II

In her father’s reception hall, Sophie von Faninal awaits the arrival of the Knight of the Rose. Handsome and elegantly dressed, Octavian arrives bearing the silver rose in advance of the bridegroom’s arrival. The two young people promptly fall for each other.

Ochs comes in, accompanied by his loutish entourage, and he treats Sophie patronisingly. His excessive confidence alienates Sophie, who declares that she will not have him. When Ochs tries to force the issue, Octavian angrily draws his sword. The scene ends with chaos. Sophie’s father threatens to send her back to the convent (where she has been at school) if she does not agree to the marriage.

ACT III

In a private room at a seedy inn, the scene is set for a plan meant to humble the obnoxious Ochs. “Mariandel” has agreed to meet him, and they arrive together. His plans of seduction repeatedly run awry with continual interruptions by other conspirators; the ensuing pandemonium brings in the police. Ochs’s mood is not improved by the arrival of Sophie and her father, who express shock. “Mariandel” hides and changes clothes and then returns as Count Rofrano. Next on the scene is the Marschallin. Faced with all the people he most wished to impress, Ochs grumpily rushes off. After Baron Faninal leaves, only the Marschallin, Octavian, and Sophie remain. They reflect upon their different perspectives on love. The Marschallin, with much bittersweet feeling, yields her place to the younger woman, and the trio becomes a duet for Sophie and Octavian. “We are together,” Octavian proclaims. “All else is like a dream.”

Share this page

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

Der Rosenkavalier

Argument

Elisa Zaninotto
Temps de lecture
4 min.

Une comédie, certes, mais une comédie avec un regard nostalgique sur le temps passé, la beauté qui s’efface, les amours perdues. Lisez ici notre synopsis de Der Rosenkavalier, accompagné d’une sélection des grands moments musicaux de l’opéra.

PREMIER ACTE

Dans la chambre de la Maréchale, celle-ci et son jeune amant, Octavian, se réveillent à la suite d’une nuit fougueuse. Octavian se cache promptement lorsqu’un domestique entre avec le petit-déjeuner.

Peu après qu’il a regagné le lit, on entend des cris à l’extérieur de la pièce. La Maréchale reconnaît la voix : c’est celle de son cousin autoritaire et grossier, le baron Ochs. Elle dit à Octavian de se cacher derrière le paravent et de trouver des vêtements. Ochs entre en trombe, réclamant l’attention de sa cousine. En dépit de sa noblesse, il ne roule pas sur l’or; il a donc l’intention d’épouser la jeune et riche bour- geoise Sophie von Faninal. Conformément à la tradition, il doit trouver un messager de bonne famille qui offrira une rose d’argent parfumée à la jeune femme, en guise de demande en mariage.

La Maréchale recommande avec malice le comte Rofrano (Octavian), ce qu’Ochs accepte. Le jeune homme, réapparu en tenue de soubrette, se présente comme la femme de chambre Mariandel. Ochs lui fait la cour. Pendant ce temps, les visiteurs se succèdent pour solliciter la Maréchale. Tandis qu’un ténor italien chante un air, Ochs malmène un notaire pour qu’il rédige un contrat de mariage qui lui soit grandement favorable. « Mariandel » s’éclipse.

Une fois seule, la Maréchale médite sur sa jeunesse perdue. Quand Octavian revient, portant cette fois ses propres vêtements, elle lui confie qu’elle se lève parfois la nuit pour arrêter toutes les horloges et ainsi contenir la course du temps. Elle lui prédit qu’un jour, il la quittera pour une femme plus jeune. Octavian s’en va, désemparé. Prenant soudain conscience qu’elle a omis d’embrasser son amant avant qu’il ne parte, la Maréchale essaie de le faire revenir, en vain.

DEUXIÈME ACTE

Dans le salon de réception de son père, Sophie guette l’arrivée du Chevalier à la rose. Précédant le fiancé, le bel Octavian, élégamment vêtu, s’avance avec la rose d’argent. C’est le coup de foudre entre les deux jeunes gens. Ochs fait alors son entrée, accompagné d’une suite fruste, et traite Sophie avec condescendance. Son assurance démesurée lui aliène la demoiselle, qui déclare qu’elle ne veut pas de lui. Quand Ochs tente de la brusquer, Octavian tire son épée avec colère. La scène se termine dans le chaos complet. Le père de Sophie menace de la renvoyer au couvent – où elle a déjà été éduquée – si elle refuse ce mariage.

TROISIÈME ACTE

Dans une chambre d’une auberge miteuse, une machination visant à humilier l’odieux Ochs a été minutieusement préparée. «Mariandel» a accepté de le rencontrer, et ils arrivent ensemble. Les entreprises de séduction du Baron tournent mal les unes après les autres, sans cesse interrompues par de nouveaux conspirateurs; le tohu-bohu qui en résulte alerte la police. L’humeur d’Ochs est encore assombrie par l’arrivée de Sophie accompagnée de son père, choqué par ce qu’il voit. «Mariandel» se cache, change de tenue, et revient sous les traits du comte Rofrano. La Maréchale arrive à son tour. Humilié devant toutes les personnes qu’il souhaite le plus impressionner, Ochs s’enfuit, la mine renfrognée. Monsieur de Faninal part à son tour, et la Maréchale, Octavian et Sophie restent seuls. Ils méditent sur leurs conceptions diverses de l’amour. La Maréchale, dans un élan d’émotion doublée d’une douce amertume, cède la place à la jeune femme, et le trio se mue en un duo entre Sophie et Octavian. « Nous sommes l’un près de l’autre », proclame Octavian. « Tout le reste s’en va comme un rêve. »

Traduction : Émilie Syssau

Partagez cette page