MM Tickets will be closed from Saturday July 9 until Monday August 15. During this period, tickets and subscriptions can still be booked online via this website.


The federal opera house in the capital of Europe


© Hugo Segers

Orchestra Academy

The Orchestra Academy, a joint project by La Monnaie and the Belgian National Orchestra.

In the first stage, the young musicians are selected by audition in their own conservatory. A maximum of 20 students per conservatory then attend auditions at La Monnaie with a jury comprising musicians from La Monnaie and the Belgian National Orchestra.

The students who are selected are then able to become orchestral trainees, each with an individual programme.

In consultation with the artistic management, each youngster will work on an opera production and a symphonic concert conducted by Alain Altinoglu (conductor and Musical Director at La Monnaie) or two symphonic concerts by the Belgian National Orchestra.

Workshops, master-classes, coaching sessions and encounters are also organised for them. What is more, these young musicians can also attend all the performances at La Monnaie and all the concerts by the Belgian National Orchestra free of charge.

By attending this Orchestra Academy, the students receive study points recognised by their schools.

Members of the Orchestra Academy 2021-22

Sarah Bayens, violin
Paula Carmona Caminos, violin
Mateusz Kolasiński, violin
Sayaka Sato, violin
Laura Marchetti, viola
Alice Sinacori, viola
Saar Van Bergen, viola
Karin Broeckhove, cello
Irene Cervera Esteban, cello
Maria Gomez, cello
Leopold Eibensteiner, flute
Célestine Wacquez, flute
Irene Martin Sanchez, oboe
Lou Nygren, oboe
Álvaro Ferrer Pedrajas, clarinet
Moïra Michelazzo, clarinet
Raúl Viceiro Fernández, bassoon
Ward Dierick, trumpet
Drik Vanmanshoven, trombone
Eleonora Congiu, harp

Members of the Orchestra Academy in 2019-20

Merlijn De Coorde, violin (Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel)
Roberto Soriano Guillén, viola (Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles)
Héloïse Danneels, viola (Conservatoire royal de Mons)
Irène Leroy, viola (Conservatoire royal de Liège)
Manuel Israel Ruiz Hernandez, viola (Koninklijk Conservatorium Antwerpen)
Patricia Fernandez Pires, flute (Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel)
Alejandro López Cordero, flute (Koninklijk Conservatorium Antwerpen)
Léolün Planchon, clarinet (Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles)
Diego Hernandez Torres, trumpet (Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel)
Jarne Claesen, percussions (Koninklijk Conservatorium Antwerpen)

Music Director – Alain Altinoglu
Artistic Director – Ouri Bronchti

Share this page