MM Tickets will be closed from Saturday July 9 until Monday August 15. During this period, tickets and subscriptions can still be booked online via this website.

Close

The federal opera house in the capital of Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

© Pam & Jenny

Opera

Bastarda

Gaetano Donizetti

Presentation
The hardest thing to govern is the heart.— Elizabeth I Tudor

A bastard child who went on to become an adored monarch, a ‘Virgin Queen’ with numerous male ‘favourites’: Queen Elizabeth I of England (1533–1603) has, for centuries, fascinated historians, poets, playwrights, painters, and composers. Gaetano Donizetti devoted no fewer than four of his operas to the Elizabethan era: Elisabetta al castello di Kenilworth (1829), Anna Bolena (1830), Maria Stuarda (1834), and Roberto Devereux (1837).

In Bastarda, the director Olivier Fredj and the conductor Francesco Lanzillotta have reforged this unofficial Tudor tetralogy to create an ambitious epic, over two evenings of opera, recounting the life of Elizabeth I. From the musical and dramatic highlights of the original works, they have distilled a completely new score and drama, which grapples with the queen’s life story and her complex personality: that of a woman who, despite her power, is torn between affairs of state and her most intimate feelings.

The result is a six-hour belcanto festival, divided into two evenings: ‘For better, for worse...’, tells the story of Elizabeth’s childhood and her sudden accession to the throne, while ‘...Till death do us part’ recounts her inevitable decline.

Cast
Cast

Conductor & Musical arrangementsFRANCESCO LANZILLOTTA Artistic concept, Script & DirectionOLIVIER FREDJ Adaptation & DialogueYANN APPERRY & OLIVIER FREDJ

Set design & LightingURS SCHÖNEBAUM CostumesPETRA REINHARDT VideoSARAH DERENDINGER ChoreographyAVSHALOM POLLAK Artistic collaborationCECILIA LIGORIO DramaturgyMARIE MERGEAY Chorus masterGIULIO MAGNANINI

ElisabettaMYRTÒ PAPATANASIU
FRANCESCA SASSU (1 & 2.4)
Anna BolenaSALOME JICIA Percy & LeicesterENEA SCALA EnricoLUCA TITTOTO Giovanna Seymour & SaraRAFFAELLA LUPINACCI Amy RobsartVALENTINA MASTRANGELO Maria StuardaLENNEKE RUITEN Roberto DevereuxSERGEY ROMANOVSKY NottinghamBRUNO TADDIA
SmeatonDAVID HANSEN CecilGAVAN RING

La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra
La Monnaie Choral Academy, led by Benoît Giaux

ProductionLA MONNAIE With support fromNATIONAL LOTTERY

Dates & tickets

Dates

Maison d’opéra fédérale au sein de la capitale de l’Europe

LA MONNAIE DE MUNT

© Pam & Jenny

Opéra

Bastarda

Gaetano Donizetti

Présentation
The hardest thing to govern is the heart.— Elizabeth I Tudor

Enfant bâtarde devenue monarque idolâtré, femme collectionnant les favoris passée à la postérité sous le surnom de « Virgin Queen » : la reine Elizabeth I d’Angleterre (1533-1603) suscite depuis plusieurs siècles la fascination des historiens, des poètes, des dramaturges, des peintres et… des compositeurs ! Gaetano Donizetti a consacré pas moins de quatre opéras à l’époque élisabéthaine : Elisabetta al castello di Kenilworth (1829), Anna Bolena (1830), Maria Stuarda (1834) et Roberto Devereux (1837).

Avec Bastarda, le metteur en scène Olivier Fredj et le chef d’orchestre Francesco Lanzillotta se proposent de refondre cette tétralogie officieuse en une fresque ambitieuse lors de deux soirées retraçant la vie d’Elizabeth I. Puisant dans les moments musicaux et dramatiques emblématiques des œuvres originales, ils composent une partition entièrement nouvelle au profit d’une dramaturgie inédite. Adoptant une perspective à la fois historique et psychologique, ce projet explore la figure complexe d’une femme de pouvoir partagée entre la raison d’État et ses sentiments les plus intimes.

Il en résulte une narration de six heures, réparties en deux soirées, à voir idéalement l’une et l’autre : « For better, for worse... » relate l’enfance et l’accession au trône d’Elizabeth, et « Till death do us part » raconte son inévitable déclin.

 

Dates & tickets

Dates

Distribution
Distribution

Direction musicale & arrangements musicauxFRANCESCO LANZILLOTTA Concept artistique, script & mise en scèneOLIVIER FREDJ Adaptation & dialogueYANN APPERRY & OLIVIER FREDJ

Décors & éclairagesURS SCHÖNEBAUM CostumesPETRA REINHARDT VidéoSARAH DERENDINGER ChorégraphieAVSHALOM POLLAK Collaboration artistiqueCECILIA LIGORIO DramaturgieMARIE MERGEAY Chef des chœursGIULIO MAGNANINI

ElisabettaMYRTÒ PAPATANASIU
FRANCESCA SASSU (1 & 2.4)
Anna BolenaSALOME JICIA Percy & LeicesterENEA SCALA EnricoLUCA TITTOTO Giovanna Seymour & SaraRAFFAELLA LUPINACCI Amy RobsartVALENTINA MASTRANGELO Maria StuardaLENNEKE RUITEN Roberto DevereuxSERGEY ROMANOVSKY NottinghamBRUNO TADDIA
SmeatonDAVID HANSEN CecilGAVAN RING

Orchestre symphonique et chœurs de la Monnaie
Académie des chœurs de la Monnaie s.l.d. de Benoît Giaux

ProductionLA MONNAIE Avec le soutien deLOTERIE NATIONALE